Unit or House or something in-between?

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by Green, 13th Aug, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Green

Green Well-Known Member

Hi guys,

Sorry I know this might be a stupid question (newbie here), but it seems like in general investing in a house will give you much better gains than a unit. I've attached a few photos, would these type of properties be more likely to follow the GC of a house or unit?

And how would the land situation work with these? In buying something like that is the land underneath it actually yours to do with what you wish?

Again sorry for the newness :)

Cheers,

Attached Files:

2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

All property prices move according to the market but not necessarily at the same time. Price is relative to the location - a unit may be 70% of the cost of a house in the same area and will generally be around this % during various stages of a cycle.

Houses may have more potential of usable land but units have greater utilisation of the space that you own.

Property Twins and Green like this.
  3. hammer

hammer Well-Known Member

Don't forget to factor in body corporate costs. High body corps can limit your market when it comes time to sell, and can severely affect yields whilst you own it.

On the upside, a good body corp can save you a lot of hassles.

I've been looking at the not quite a house market myself. From my research a duplex without body corp seems to offer the best compromise.

Either way, as a newbie you have come to the right forum! :)

Green likes this.
  4. Tony Fleming

Tony Fleming Well-Known Member

With strata you essentially own the air inside the walls. Whether one is better than the other depends on your goals, long term or short term strategy etc? Any strata properties you consider make sure you investigate the sinking fund thoroughly.

5. Property Twins