Unit factory's in a strata complex

Discussion in 'Commercial Property' started by Cousinit, 27th Sep, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Cousinit

Cousinit Well-Known Member

As the thread title suggests I'm looking for opinions on investing in this class of industrial realestate . For one thing , they seem affordable and present well . Also I have just finished reading Lillie cawthornes book "The Money Factory" which had some good information .

I'm not a complete newby to industrial . We have a 4ha site leased to a trucking company for a few years now .

2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Commercial strata is a completely different beast to residential strata as owners are generally absentee and don't give a brass razoo about common areas, maintenance sinking funds etc.

Nett leases allow you to pass on all costs other than capital works.

Ross Forrester likes this.
  3. Cousinit

Thanks Scott No Mates .

Are these types of investment likely to keep pace with inflation building costs etc ? They seem to be very popular with trades people and the like .

4. Cousinit

Some of them look so good you could live in them (of course you are not allowed to )

5. Scott No Mates

Depends upon supply and demand. Small units are entry level and may suit those seeking some space as they have outgrown their garage, storage units are very expensive by comparison (and quite small).

6. Cousinit

Do these types of units have good long term prospects in general ? I'm thinking a 30 year time frame . I was reading in the book I mentioned that building of these had stopped in the greater Sydney area for a few years after the GFC .

I will be freeing up some more time to look around next week down around Geelong and parts of Melbourne .

7. Scott No Mates