Understanding the APRA

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Savy mum, 15th Apr, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Savy mum

Savy mum Well-Known Member

I am new to property investing. I haven't bought an investment property yet. I have $300000 in equity in my current home. I've spoken to 3 different mortgage brokers this week (no wonder I'm confused) and no one has mentioned the APRA. Can someone please tell me what this is, or tell me a link I can read. All brokers said I would have no problem borrowing the money. Hubby PAYG, myself small sole trader.
    Thanks

2. Savy mum

Just to add - Is there something I'm missing or should I be worried about this?

3. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

Then no problem foryou right now then

Most transactional brokers/bankers look at the current deal, and dont work through your goals, they arent really trained for it, nor is it seen as a "brokers job".

Unless you have great income, or smallish Investment goals, the "recent" APRA interventions will matter.

The general APRA stuff doesnt mean much to the average Jane or Joe.

Ideally the impacts need to be explained in a personalised way........... that is relevent to your current goals resources and risk profile.

the fact that APRA want to limit new Investment lending by no more than 10 % of the lenders existing book or maximum % of IO loans to be 30 % of total,doesnt really mean much in isolation.

ta
    rolf

Taku Ekanayake and Savy mum like this.
  4. euro73

euro73 Well-Known Member Business Member

The beautiful Hills District, Sydney Australia
    APRA - Pages - Australian Prudential Regulation Authority