WA Understanding Perth property market fundamentals

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by radioactive, 3rd Mar, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. radioactive

radioactive Well-Known Member

Hello guys

I am new to Perth and Australia.I would appreciate if you can help me understand the investment property market a bit.I am currently sharing a house, however, I am thinking if I could buy a property and share it with others.Why pay rent instead if the same rent can be contributed to your own asset.

1.Which is ideal property-house or an apartment? Why?

2.I am looking at a 20-year-old apartment(a hotel room) in CBD around(180K) which has a return of 8 to 10%, when leased out on Airbnb.What could be demerits of such a property investment?

3.How do properties depreciate?Do rents remain stable especially if the property is in CBD.

4.I believe the returns in real estate in WA are based on demand generated due to people moving in for jobs in mining.The iron ore prices between 2003 to 2014 were around 80dollar approx, which created jobs in mining and hence people moved in from other states.However, apart from this time frame iron prices were pretty much constant around 20 to 30 dollars.May be the boom we saw as probably once in a lifetime.I am curious what if there are fundamentals left.I feel tourism to WA may increase and hence CBD apartments for airbnb may have good occupancy rates.

5.What suburbs are preferrable?

Any pointers would be highly helpful. If anyone wishes to know about investment/foreclosed property market in Japan,I would be happy to share my knowledge

2. Noobieboy

Noobieboy Well-Known Member

In my world, house always wins over an apartment. Scarcity factor, you can’t come up with a house from thin air. You need land. Appartments can be build en masse on one lot. Also no body Corp fees. People love the independence it brings.