Understand Victoria zoning

Discussion in 'Property Information Resources & Tools' started by reainvestor, 30th Jun, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. reainvestor

reainvestor Member

Hi all,

I'm a newbie in property investment. I came across different zone names but found it pretty hard to find information to differentiate them. Basically I'm confused between NRZ (neighbour residential zone), GRZ (General residential zone) and RGZ (Residential growth zone).

From my understanding all of them allow subdivision and RGZ allows building multi-storey units so on the same land area RGZ allows more units then GRZ does. However I'm not really sure what's the difference between NRZ and the other 2.

Can some experts please shed me some light and/or please correct me if my understanding was wrong.

Thanks

2. melbournian

melbournian Well-Known Member

the NRZ was previously prior to april 2017 - done to have properties mainly in the east protected from overdevelopment. Some even had single dwelling restrictions like the likes of balwyn, mont albert. however state legislation

The only diff is the character of the neighbourhood which is taken into account if you subdivide and decide you want a 3 storey - they would disallow it. A lot of the them also has vegettation overlays which makes it harder to comply with.

the diff btw RGZ and GRZ is that there is no minimum garden requirment to comply with so for a 600sqm you could technically do 6 as opposed to 3 on GRZ.

3. reainvestor

reainvestor Member

Thanks @melbournian for your help.