Two townhouse development in Inner City Melbourne

Discussion in 'Development' started by drfuzzy, 6th Feb, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. drfuzzy

drfuzzy Well-Known Member

I am building 2 larger size architecturally designed townhouses about 4km from Melbourne CBD in a B+ grade part of a A+ grade suburb.

Approx cost for construction will be circa $1.9m inc GST under an ABIC contract administered by my architect.

Had a lot of builders withdraw interest from the tender process for various reasons, many claiming to be too busy.

Now have 1 (possibly 2) reasonably competitive tenders that are higher than initial estimates but within budget.

I'm a newbie to this and have learnt alot along the way and still have many gaps in my knowledge. My questions are:
    1) what is a reasonable amount to keep aside for additional costs other than holding costs? I am budgeting 5% or $95,000 inc GST. Costs I am anticipating include: costs relating to a sewerage easement, costs for an electrical pit, costs for any items missed or uncertain in the architects specifications, costs of the building permit (do I pay that or does the builder?), costs of subdivision.
    2) are there other major costs other than holding costs I may not have considered? I have already paid for all architectural and engineering fees, soil reports, energy certification, and planning permit costs.

I appreciate any thoughts or suggestions...

2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Generally allow 10%. You'll still need allowances for subdivision (survey, legal, DA & lodgement), latent conditions, wet weather, extension of time/delay costs, adjustment of provisional sums and the list goes on....

3. Westminster

Westminster Tigress at Tiger Developments Business Member

Which part of the budget has:
    - council fees
    - stormwater fees
    - water/sewerage fees
    - power and gas headworks