Trade rip off - Victoria

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Michelle Evans, 18th Aug, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Michelle Evans

Michelle Evans Well-Known Member

Hi all - so, as some of you may know I'm a property manager of 17 years. This is the first time though, I've come across a situation such as this.

I have an owner, Sydney based, coordinated landscaping himself direct with a trade in Melton. Works were done (a few weeks later than expected but eventually completed). Trades first quote to the owner (on paper) was $6500. Owner paid a deposit, then the rest when completed. You think - done, no worries.

But no - the trade came back to say here's an invoice for an extra $2500 as I had to put aggie pipe under the side garden and your builder stitched you up blah blah blah... the owner said, 'okay, show me some receipts for these extra materials and I'll pay it if it's justified...' no receipts and after some investigation, found this obviously wasn't done. Owner refused to pay the extra amount.

Trade calls and leaves threatening voice mails and texts (so all in writing) that he's going to rip up the garden, you fing c... very nasty stuff. Reported to the police but of course, no one is hurt, so they can't do anything. Today - the sleepers, plants and pavers are gone.

Has anyone been through this where a trade has carried out a threat to destroy the work they did and did they get justice? I'm interested to know (and will let others know how it goes) because it is criminal damage and trespass, you would think there's a pretty strong case and the way this trade behaved, I'd hate to think if he did this to a lovely old person who ended up being so scared that they pay the extorted extras.

Attached Files:

2. Dan Wood

Dan Wood Well-Known Member

Get the owner to take him to court, it'll probably be through small claims court.