Total novice! Aussie living in the UK!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Indi, 15th Jan, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Indi

Indi Member

Hi everyone!

I have recently joined based on a recommendation from a friend. I am an Australian citizen living in the UK and after years of procrastination I am ready to purchase my first property. Naturally this is a very exciting time however it’s also quite daunting as I am highly inexperienced in this area. Originally from Sydney I can’t really afford to buy in an area I know and as such started to research Brisbane based on the ‘gurus’ outlook for the next few years. I have spoken with a mortgage advisor who has crunched some figures, my maximum borrowing amount is $420,000 and I have a deposit of $80,000. That being said I am not convinced I wanted to spend $500K on my first property, I think I am just a little scared about it not working out or not growing. The mortgage broker has suggested I pay interest only on my loan and transfer money into the offset account to keep interest down.

I wanted to see if anyone could help me out by point me in the right direction with tips/ podcasts (anything really) that will help me with my suburb research and ultimately the area I want to buy in within Brisbane. I know for me personally I would be drawn to an area with great restaurants/ bars, public transport, shopping centres, supermarkets etc. However without being on the ground and knowing where areas are up and coming this whole exercise is extremely daunting for me. For that reason I am considering using a buyer’s agent. I am tossing up whether I should use a nationally recognised agent or someone who specifically focuses on the Brisbane market. Again, if anyone has any advice/ past experiences please do share them! J

Looking forward to discussing things further!

2. Jamie Moore

Jamie Moore MORTGAGE BROKER - AUSTRALIA WIDE Business Member

Hiya

Welcome aboard.