Total Noob Questions

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by sharon, 22nd Feb, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. sharon

sharon Well-Known Member

After reading a little on all things LIC I would like to buy some.

Since I haven't done this before I have some very basic questions I hope someone can help with. I have just today opened a CDIA account with CBA. I am told this is the account i need to buy and sell shares.

I have an IO loan using equity from my house. It is not in CBA but with a different lender. So - in order to show that the IO loan is only used for investment purposes (and therefore I can claim the interest as a tax deduction) - do I transfer money directly to the CDIA account? Is that all good for tax and accountants and stuff?

I did ask the CBA staff if I could link an account from another lender to CommSec - but apparently you can't.

Thank you for your patience in answering such a basic question.

Perthguy likes this.
  2. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgage Broker & Finance Strategy, Aus Wide! Business Member

Which lender is it? Some banks allow you to transfer directly our of a loan account which is handy. Others are probably best turned into a line of credit so you can transact directly out of it so there's no confusion as to the use of funds.

Going loan - offset - CDIA - shares is possibly too far removed for the tax office so better to go loan - CDIA if possible.

Perthguy likes this.
  3. sharon

sharon Well-Known Member

@Jess Peletier I have my mortgage with CUA.

I will have to talk to them about how to get money from the IO equity loan into the CDIA account I think.

4. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgage Broker & Finance Strategy, Aus Wide! Business Member

Hopefully their product is flexible enough to allow it. Do they have a line of credit product?

5. sharon

sharon Well-Known Member

@Jess Peletier I have no idea.