Tips for mortgage newbie

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by pelez, 12th Feb, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. pelez

pelez Member

Hi guys

im a newbie here and am looking at trying to get into owning our own home.

At current. i am the only one who is working is wifey stays home with the little one. Have a personal loan of $15,000 for our 2 cars that we have and are currently renting a house at $440 a week.

Would it be possible to apply for a loan under my name only?

2. Jamie Moore

Jamie Moore MORTGAGE BROKER - AUSTRALIA WIDE Business Member

Hi Pelez

Maybe.

It all depends on what your income looks like.

Hit up @Rolf Latham who is a guru on the Gold Coast. He will give you good advice on what's possible.

Cheers

Jamie

3. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

Welcome

A lot more data still needed like income and deposit size and source etc

Ta

Rolf

legallyblonde likes this.
  4. pelez

pelez Member

Thanks guys for the reply.

Currently i am on a salary of $64,100.00 and i dont have a deposit. At the moment, i am actually looking at what i can and need to do to move forward.

Thank you

5. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

Talk to a broker about your specific circumstances. Simply stating some basic income figures and a few other details is not even remotely enough information to determine how much you can borrow and under what circumstances.

Even if you can't do anything immediately, you'll have a better understanding of what you need to get in place to be able to move forward.

I'll second Jamie's nomination of Rolf.

pelez likes this.
  6. pelez

pelez Member

Thank you peter. As stated previously, i am new to this so i need to get more information.

Thank you

7. Greyghost

Greyghost Well-Known Member

I would assume your personal loan is related to one of the cars?