That folk in the road??

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by A&J, 24th Jul, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. A&J

A&J Member

Hey guys, I am still new to this game so keen to hear some thoughts on how some of you experienced investors would go about this & even structures

You have $100 grand (by end of the year in cash) ready to buy (debt free). Do you buy a PPR around the $400g-$450g (Looking at Langwarren in Vic for PPR atm) mark so repayments are manageable & so you can smash out extra on repayments to get the equity up, then in a few years time leverage to buy an IP & start the ball rolling that way.

Or

Keep on renting & use that $100g to buy an IP

Or

Can you do both from the get go?

Thanks in advance :)

2. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

Well its a personal choice really. The PPOR obviously will set you back in terms of investing, but then you have a PPOR...

3. Blacky

Blacky Well-Known Member

All things being equal I would buy the IP first.

If you buy right it wont cost you anything monthly, allowing you to continue saving (and in actual fact should add to your income). Plus the depreciation benefits will give you a tax refund at the end of the financial year.

Borrow as much as possible against the IP (90%) to keep your cash available. And seek alternative ways to fund the remainder without using your cash (note TerryW's thread about reimbursing yourself).

Blacky

4. WestOz

WestOz Well-Known Member

Bit surprised by the answers above, perhaps there's a reason I'm not aware of/considering?

Assuming its your (& partners) first purchase you should be eligible in Vic for 10k FHOG (First Home Owners Grant, currently 13k in WA) plus potentially further benefits >See Here<
    10k is allot of FREE money when we think how long it would take to save that after costs of living etc, its 10% of the 100k deposit, covers a large % of stamp duty etc.