Tenants refusing to move out

Discussion in 'Legal Issues' started by Sam Alwani, 1st Jan, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Sam Alwani

Sam Alwani Member

Hi All,

I'm a newbie here......Hope you all are well and keeping safe!!!!!

I have a situation at one of my rentals where the tenants have refused to move out after 4 month lease has ended.
    They didn't pay the rent since 11th December and there is an overdue water bill to be paid too.
    After repeated reminders through text messages, calls and email, I have received no response from them. When confronted at the property, I was told that I'm harassing them for rent.
    I do have a 6 week housing SA bond guarantee sitting with CBS which will cover the rent and water bill.
    Just wondering, if someone else has been through this trauma and what actions were taken against the offenders to kick them out or if there are any lawyers/real estate professionals in this group who could assist us.

Thankyou in advance.

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

You will need to apply to the tribunal to evict them, then probably get the sheriff around if they don't leave.

Sam Alwani likes this.
  3. Marg4000

Marg4000 Well-Known Member

You must follow the legal process in your state to evict them.

Be sure to adhere very strictly to the lawful procedure.

Sam Alwani likes this.
  4. skater

skater Well-Known Member

I know it's a bit late now, but do not self manage unless you know what the legal process is. You need to follow it to the letter of the law. Have you sent any breach notices yet?

craigc, Sam Alwani and Truly Exotic like this.
  5. Sam Alwani

Sam Alwani Member

I know....Sadly a bitter lesson learnt from this experience....:(