Tax implications of development

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by BigBadBanana, 27th Mar, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. BigBadBanana

BigBadBanana Active Member

Hello all,

A complex question for those in the know...

FACTS: my recently widowed mother and my aunty (her sister) would like to live next door to each other. They are both in their 60s, and would each like a small modern house in a good location. Obviously having all the ducks line up for this to work is impossible, unless we do it ourselves. I have founds a property which has an old fibro house which can be knocked down, the land be subdivided, and two houses built.

This opportunity leads me to my first question...

QUESTION 1:
    which of the following options would be most effective?

a) My mother and my aunty enter into a partition agreement (I'm a property lawyer), buy the property (obviously paying full stamp duty as the subdivided existing property wouldn't be a PPR), demolish the old house, subdivide the land, and build two properties themselves (notwithstanding I would be conducting all of the logistics). They each have sufficient capital to do it all without needing finance;

OR

b) I buy the property, get a depreciation schedule, knock it down, sell it off-the-plan to my mother and to my aunty (they would pay stamp duty of the subdivided land value only, and as they are both pensioners, won't pay stamp duty), and build the two residences. I don't have the capital to do it, but they will lend the money to me interest-free to fund the project

QUESTION 2:
    if I were do do it all myself, what is the tax situation...? More specifically...

i. Obviously there will be CGT, but how does that work with off-the-plan properties?
    ii. GST: I assume this is taxable supply...therefore I could claim all GST spent....but would have to make the sale price plus GST. I'd also be eligible to use the margin scheme...