Tax benefits of an IP - real life example?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by squarepeg, 15th Oct, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. squarepeg

squarepeg Member

I am new to all this and trying to get my head around the tax benefits of owning an IP with the aim of primarily reducing my tax bill each year, but holding the IP long-term with the ultimate end goal of providing rental income in retirement.

I am early 30s earning around 180k P/A with around 250k in savings. With the tax on the savings and low interest rates I feel I should buy an IP, but am hoping some of you in a similar bracket and with experience of the tax benefits can give me an example of how much you were able to claim and reduce your taxable income by?

Cheers

2. Brady

Brady Well-Known Member

I invest in property to make money, not lose money.

Travelbug, Beano, mikey7 and 4 others like this.
  3. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

@squarepeg - as @Brady points out, investment is for the returns not to save tax. Structuring is for the tax saving.

Beano likes this.
  4. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

I have an example...

First property we bought was a 1980s town-house, purchased in 2000. At first glance there wouldn't be any depreciation to enjoy.

We did a cosmetic renovation for about $5,000. I did a lot of the work myself. We then had a depreciation report done.

The quantity surveyor gave us back a report indicating that there was about $15,000 in deductibles which could be claimed over periods between 3 and 7 years. Not only was our improvements deductible, but there was some other things that had been repaired and updated in the past few years that could also be claimed.

Given our income tax rates at the time, over the next few years the renovation we did was fully funded thanks to the tax refunds we received.