Sydney Based investor and Buyer's Agent

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by John_BridgeToBricks, 30th May, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. John_BridgeToBricks

John_BridgeToBricks Buyer's Agent Business Member

Hi All,

I am a Chartered Accountant and a buyer's agent based in Sydney.

My property story actually began when I met my girlfriend (now wife) nearly 15 years ago. We were in our early 20's then and her parents had encouraged her to purchase an investment property - a 2 bedroom unit in Artarmon (Sydney's lower north shore).

We later lived in the property as newly weds: picture a tired two story red-brick walk-up, a few minutes walk from Artarmon station. The property was in a state of dis-repair - old kitchen, old carpet, and the front door holding on by a thread.

This property became the foundation for the portfolio we grew over the subsequent 15 year period.

We built a very substantial Sydney-based property portfolio focusing on three ingredients that always work:

1. Location: Buying in awesome locations, but avoiding the premium of new or off the plan. Walk-ability, particularly to transport is a critical criterion;
    2. Land content: low-rise properties where the land is driving the appreciation.
    3. Layout:- livability. No bathrooms off the living room!

As we started to have children, we continued investing in property to de-risk the loss of income at the time. This was critical: we de-risked with property, not from property. So our portfolio grew.

Eventually we decided to add to the portfolio with one acquisition per year. Not too fast, not too slow. Realising that property is a game of inflation, compounding and time, we focused on asset accumulation, in a particular logical order.

We now have properties all over Sydney: lower north shore, inner west, southern beaches, St George Area, and south west Sydney.