Switching PPOR to IP

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by theorist, 25th Oct, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. theorist

theorist Member

Hi all,

Bit a disclaimer, I am a newbie when it comes to property tax and terminology! Please go easy :)

I am looking a potentially switching my current house to an IP for the first time. I am looking to rent somewhere closer to work and for lifestyle choice.
    My primary question relates to gearing - from my rough calcualtions the property will be negatively geared. I am wondering at what threshold it would have to be in order to be nuetral or cash flow positive.
    As I havn't done it before I was hoping you could all lend your expertise to costs that are involved in renting out a place.

All figures below are per annum:
    Mortgage interest repayments: 21,600
    Rates: 1800
    Water: 900
    Insurance: 600
    Agent: 1000
    Body corp: 4000
    Maintenance: 500
    = 30,400 p/a

For landlord insurance and agent fees I have done a rough estimate as these havn't been 100% finalised. Other figures are accurate. Any other costs to be aware of?

Going through the tiers of rent I wanted to ensure at what level it changes from negative to positive. Bank val appraised rent @ 600 a week, however, I am far more skeptical and believe it lies between 500 - 550 (hence the calculations below).

Rent @ 500 a week x 52 = 26,000. Gearing = 140 (salary) + 26 (rent income) = 166 - 30.4 (expense) = $-4400k loss p/a (Total inc. 135.6)
    Rent @ 550 a week x 52= 28,600. Gearing = 140 (salary) + 28.6 (rent income) = 168.6 - 30.4 (expense) = $-1800k loss p/a (Total inc. 138.2)
    Rent @ 600a week x 52 = 31,200. Gearing = 140 (salary) + 31.2 (income) = 171.2 - 30.4 = +$800 pcm profit p/a

These calculations don't factor in depreciation schedules. Any advice from someone before who gone through a similiar situation would be apprecaited. Thanks again for your help!

2. Trainee