Suggestions on loan type and lender

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by firststep, 3rd Oct, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. firststep

firststep Member

Hi everyone, total newbie here.
    Got some questions on my first property purchase, any help/suggestions is greatly appreciated.

I'm a month into a new job.
    Things are going well so I thought it's good time to start looking to purchase my first property.

Current plan is to purchase a property worth ~$1mil with a $200k deposit.
    So looking at LVR of around 85% (i.e. loan ~$850k).

I plan to rent it out for 1-2 years to get some negative gearing going and build up buffer for a rainy day. During that time I'll be leeching off parents so minimal expense. But it'll be PPOR after the initial rental period.

Salary income is 140k + super.

So my questions are:
    1. I have 5 month probation left, ideally I want to approach lenders that are comfortable with that.
      I might be able to get it cut down but I prefer if I don't have to ask.
    2. Is it better to get investor loan or owner occupied loan in my situation?
    3. As I'll be borrowing quite a lot, is it better to try to avoid LMI or get a better rate instead?
    The type of property I'm targeting will be old units (circa 1970) so no building depreciation expected.
    Thanks in advance.

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

1. no question listed.
    2. owner occ
    3. avoid if possible.

3. Property Twins

Property Twins Mortgage Brokers & Buyers Agents Business Member

You can get a loan whilst in probation. Where were you prior to this role?

Appears to be a fairly large non deductible debt (if taken as an owner occupier). You can always change the security purpose to owner occupier later on. Though since you are using post tax dollars and have the 6 year cgt free rule at play seek accountant's advice..