Subdivision Feasibility

Discussion in 'Development' started by Ichigo, 3rd Aug, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Ichigo

Ichigo Well-Known Member

Hi,

I am new to Property Investing/Development. I have spent the past 4-5months learning as much as I can about it. Would be great if you guys could assist me in doing a feasibility on a property that I'm looking at (purchase, demolish, subdivide, sell the lots).

900 - Purchase Price
    810 - Mortgage

Upfront Cash
    90 - 10% deposit
    38 - Stamp duty
    61 - Holding costs (assuming 5% I/O for 1.5 years)
    49 - Demolish, trees removal & site clearing
    189 - Developer Contribution - 189 (assuming $31.5k per lot for 6 lots)
    20 - ~5% buffer
    ?? - Subdivision Clearance fee
    ?? - Professional fees (surveyors, accountants, solicitor, settlement, etc)
    -------
    447 + ??

Total investment: 810 + 447 + ?? = 1257 + ??
    Aim: Sell 6 lots at 300 each, thus 1800
    Agent fees = 1800 x 0.03 = 54
    Profit before tax = 1800 - 54 - 1257 - ?? = 489 - ??

1. Does the numbers sound correct?
    2. Is there anything missing?
    3. Any idea about ?? numbers?
    4. What sort of timeframe should I expect for such a project?
    5. I am looking at a JV with 3 people as I don't have enough cash upfront (yet to find/confirm the other partners - any takers?), what sort of structure would you recommend in regards to tax / CGT?
    6. Am I crazy (I like to think of myself as ambitious though) to be doing such a project for my very first investment? Don't even own an IP :)

2. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

6 lot development first up? Any reason why you don't want to go with a more traditional start - single IP or just a retain/subdivide/2 lot subbie?

Terry_w and Ichigo like this.
  3. Ichigo

Ichigo Well-Known Member