QLD Strathpine / Clontarf

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Carlos86, 2nd Jan, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Carlos86

Carlos86 Member

My name is Carlos and this is my first post. There is tons of information in this forum but more importantly it seems some members have a wealth of knowledge.

I’m a 35 year old accountant, single and own 2 houses (Sydney and Brisbane). My PPOR is in Brisbane.

After speaking to my broker I’ve become aware that I can purchase another property for up to 650k.

I’ve narrowed down two suburbs in Brisbane: Strathpine and Clontarf. My preference would be Clontarf as it’s close to the water. However I’ve read only good things about Strathpine.

Which suburb would you think will deliver better capital growth? I’m only interested in standalone houses.

Lastly I’m a bit confused with the definition of investment grade property. I assume being these two suburbs more than 20 km from the CBD is not ideal?

2. thunderstrike888

thunderstrike888 Well-Known Member

Dunno about Clontarf as I don't pay close attention to that but Strathpine is pretty hot right now along with most of the northside suburbs.

To be honest with you I'd rather buy in Bald Hills. Its a much nicer suburb than Strathpine to me and even Bracken Ridge is better. They are all around the same pocket and in similar price ranges as well.

$650k should squeeze you in there for a very basic old 3 bedder that needs a bit of TLC

Something like this one I guess.
    https://www.realestate.com.au/sold/property-house-qld-strathpine-137716442

I think Bald Hills $650k would be very tight. This one went for $633 for basic 3 bed but that was back in Nov so prices have increased around 3% in December so possibly still doable

https://www.realestate.com.au/sold/property-house-qld-bald+hills-137156258

The Artisan likes this.
  3. thunderstrike888

thunderstrike888 Well-Known Member