Stockmarkets: Technical Analysis

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by croseks, 18th Mar, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. croseks

croseks Well-Known Member

Hey everyone!

Considering the current state of affairs there is a lot of talk about the stockmarket and a lot of the threads are more focused on the fundamentals that are affecting prices (CV-19, Stimulus packages, global debt etc...) so I thought it would be a good idea to have a technical thread focusing on different markets and ideas.

Firstly, I am by no means an expert on anything finance, I am just learning through a combination of education and trial & error so by all means let's hear your thoughts and idea's whether for whole markets or individual stocks for how to navigate these turbulent times.

I have charted the Dow Jones on the monthly going back to the 1974 lows. As you can see the market is behaving perfectly along the Fib levels with the current 200MA sitting at 50% retracement.
    From convergence taking place, the market started to lose steam around Jan 2018 and this was the signal to start to get out.

The first support is at ~18,500pts and there should be a dead cat bounce from these levels. I think it will sink further to find support around 15,000pts which would be a 50% retracement. (GFC was 54% retracement from all time highs in 2007)

DJI.JPG

What are peoples thought's? Do you think the market will get to these lows?

2. croseks

Text book play by the Dow :)

Screen Shot 2020-03-24 at 8.55.50 am.png

Empire, RiMo, mrdobalina and 2 others like this.
  3. Islay

Islay Well-Known Member

I have no idea about TA or reading charts @croseks but I do look at them when people post them. I look forward to the day when you and others start to talk about resistance to the upside instead of dead cat bounces and support to the downside. Thanks for your posts :)

croseks and Brumbie like this.
  4. Fargo