VIC Starting a Real Estate Profession

Discussion in 'Networking & Meetups' started by baabo87, 8th Jan, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. baabo87

baabo87 Member

Hi all,

I have been working a FIFO life for the past 8 years as an Engineer in the mines, and looking to change career. I've always had interest in becoming an Agent, developer or a career in real estate in general.

Wondering if anyone can give some good advice on how to go about starting a career?

I guess my current roster is 8 days in Western Australia, and 1 day of flying back to Melbourne, and 5 days of RnR at home in Melbourne. I am wanting to start a career in real estate, but try and tie it in with my current roster so that I can still maintain my salary as we have financial commitments if that makes sense... and when I can make a sufficient salary off real estate, give my my FIFO role and go all in with my real estate career.

I know I can study to become an agent online, but do you think there are roles I can perform on a part time basis to accommodate my FIFO roster to gain some experience to help kick start my career?

I have heard or some people studying and becoming a property manager whilst doing FIFO, so maybe that is an option, but I'm not sure if it's practical to become a property manager whilst you're not in Melbourne...?

Any advice would be much appreciated

Thank you all so much

2. Biz

Biz Well-Known Member

Are you a good liar?

3. baabo87

baabo87 Member

I don't like to call it lying, but rather a manipulation of words to get a win win situation :)

4. Biz

Biz Well-Known Member

[​IMG]

paulF and teetotal like this.
  5. DaveM

DaveM Well-Known Member

@Andrew Hancock is a pilot who owns the PM biz and has staff do the day to day work iirc, he would be a good person to have a chat to, knows his stuff.

Last edited by a moderator: 14th May, 2018
    MyPropertyPro likes this.
  6. MyPropertyPro