Stamp duty when subdividing joint owned property

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by Tunners, 8th Feb, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Tunners

Tunners Member

Hi everyone,

I have an investment property that I own with my sister and we are hoping to subdivide it in the coming years. I now know buying in joint names has severely impacted my future borrowing capacity and I was hoping to slit the title during the subdivision process.

I know there will be stamp duty fees involved but will we have to pay capital gains tax as well?
    Also does anyone have any tips on how to go about splitting the title minimizing stamp duty and other costs?

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Dan Wood likes this.
  3. Tunners

Tunners Member

Thanks Terry. I was afraid that we would have no way of reducing the stamp duty.
    A couple of questions because I am still learning all of this and I like thinking outside of the box.

Is there any way to have a deed of partition drawn up at this late stage? and if so would it be worth it?
    Is it possible to subdivide the land before we construct on it so the property value is not as high and thus reducing the stamp duty?
    And finally would there be a way to structure it to be like we are buying off the plan as it will be newly constructed and reduce the stamp duty that way?

Sorry if these are silly questions.

4. Terry_w

Yes you could subdivide before constructing so the value would be lower and thereby save stamp duty. A empty lot may be the optimal for this, but you have to tie it in with other things such as finance, CGT etc

I don't know if you could set up a deed of partition now without triggering stamp duty because you will have to convince the OSR that there is a trust relationship where you own 50% of your share as trustee for your sister and vice versa.

5. Peter P

Peter P Well-Known Member