Stamp duty and fhog

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by Puni-avar, 24th Dec, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Puni-avar

Puni-avar New Member

I am relatively new to this property market.
    I have a query.
    My partner has a investment property in Vic. No FHOG was availed then.
    We are thinking of buying established propery as a owner occupied property in ACT. Would we be eligible for FHOG.
    Additionally is FHOG still available or that has been replaced by no stamp duty.
    Your answer on this subject will be very much appreciated.
    Cheers
    PA

2. marty998

marty998 Well-Known Member

If the grant were for second homes it would be called a SHOG no?

Terry_w likes this.
  3. Westminster

Westminster Tigress at Tiger Developments Business Member

It depends on the state. I know in WA it would still be possible to get the FHOG if the investment property has never been a PPOR.

craigc and MyPropertyPro like this.
  4. MyPropertyPro

MyPropertyPro REBAA Buyer's Agents Sutherland Shire & Surrounds Business Member

It's a First Home Owner Grant, not a First Property Owner Grant.

It is still available if you have already bought a property but have never treated it or used it as a PPoR. I've seen many people miss out on FHOG entitlements because they were incorrectly advised that they were ineligbile to apply (and thus never did) on the basis they had already purchased a property. There are caveats (such as specific ownership date exclusions), but generally you will be eligible if your existing IP was only ever an IP.

Investors can own multiple properties but still be eligible for first-home buyer benefits

Rentvesters may still be eligible for first home owner grants and duty concessions

- Andrew

Last edited: 2nd Jan, 2021
    dryver, MJS1034 and Puni-avar like this.
  5. Puni-avar

Puni-avar New Member

Marty many thanks for your reply.
    Before leaving sarcastic comments.