Stake to IBKR

Discussion in 'Sharemarket Investing Platforms, Tools & Services' started by Chris21, 28th Jan, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Chris21

Chris21 Well-Known Member

I am contemplating moving both personal and SMSF trading account from Stake to IBKR.

Primary reason

1. High FX (0.7% in Stake compared to 0.002% in IBKR)
    2. StakeSMSF is limited to equities only. I intend to purchase property within SMSF in future. Thinking of iCareSMSF + IBKR combo, as suggested in another thread by Mr @Hockey Monkey

Questions

1. Can we do Broker 2 Broker transfer (Drivewealth/Stake to IBKR) for Personal Account? Any fees ?
    2. How is IBKR for Australian EOFY reporting? Or Do I need to plan for sharesight subscription?
    3. Moving SMSF - will require me to sell all existing holdings with StakeSMSF?
    4. Is IBKR a good option ;)

2. Casteller

Casteller Well-Known Member

I've been using Interactive Brokers for 13 years (UK/Ireland), they are by far the best broker I've ever had, excellent trading platform and very low commissions and margin loan rates. I use them mostly for trading options on UK, US and Australian markets. Their reports are pretty comprehensive but not sure about Oz Tax reporting.

3. ChrisP73

ChrisP73 Well-Known Member

If you do go this route, investigate a master account.
    Friends and Family | Interactive Brokers LLC
    I found the setup quite easy. Lots of flexibility to manage a collection of accounts (different legal structures and names) under a single master account.

The more I use IBKR the more I discover. It's a very powerful platform.

4. ChrisP73

ChrisP73 Well-Known Member

1. Haven't done it myself, but I believe this is possible. I think there is a nominal fee per holding - possible $50

3. No need to sell as far as I'm aware Again, I haven't done this myself, but you should be able to transfer.

5. Sgav

Sgav Well-Known Member