Springwood/ Winmalee, Blue Mountains NSW 2777

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Jordan83, 29th Apr, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Jordan83

Jordan83 Member

Hi everyone, newbie here. I have greatly benefitted from reading the information you all have shared here, so thank you very much.

We are planning to buy a PPOR in either Springwood, or in Winmalee, Blue Mountains NSW 2777. Looking for a 3 bedroom house for $650-$700K, with a decent backyard (we have a 7 month old child). The area attracts us because we would like to live close to nature if that makes sense.

For those of you who know the area well, do you have any suggestions on which side of Springwood we should focus on while looking for properties? Are there any streets particularly that we should avoid? Any housing commissions? Some people say southern side of the Springwood is more ‘desirable’ - but I am wondering why that’s the case. Any idea?

I also have a general question about buying properties in Blue Mountains. As you know this is a bushfire-prone area. Do you think it makes more sense to buy houses with established swimming pools? I wasn’t keen on swimming pools because of the space they take, but reflecting on the horrid bushfire we have just been through I am now thinking it might be a good idea to have a source of water ready to go. What are your thoughts?

Greatly appreciated.

Faithe likes this.
  2. freyja

freyja Well-Known Member

I'm in the Blue mountains and there really isn't any 'bad' areas in Springwood/Winmalee. I would point out that Winmalee is a long way out from the highway and there is traffic in the afternoons (one road in and out). It also doesn't have a train line. By the time you drive out to Winmalee, you could be in Hazelbrook if you kept going up the mountain. For that reason alone, I prefer Faulconbridge/Woodford over Winmalee as they are more accessible and have the train line.