Split between home equity and IP loan

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Meerkat#007, 17th Jan, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Meerkat#007

Meerkat#007 Member

Hi all,

My first post. :)

I've read in lots of places that a reasonable approach to buying an IP is to draw a 20% deposit plus costs from home equity and secure the 80% balance against the IP.

We have a good amount of equity available, and it seems to make more sense in our case to borrow a much larger amount against the PPOR (70% LVR on the PPOR) and only the balance cost against the IP. The reason is that the interest rate is lower on the PPOR (it's based on security type not purpose) and both rates are lower for < 70% LVR.

In our case it would be 70% LVR on the PPOR and about 50% LVR on the IP. The amount of interest paid over the loan term would be minimised by doing this.

I haven't read this strategy anywhere but I'm also fairly new to all the concepts. Am I missing something? Is there a specific reason for the normal 20% / 80% scenario?

Thanks,

Jim

2. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

Hiya Meer

Welcome to the zoo :)

The 80/25 is most common because

1. Most peops dont have that much equity in their ppor
    2. Many peops have an emotional tick about so much lending on their PPOR
    3. Most lenders do not price loans based on security, but on purpose
    4. As at today there are some fab investment IO rates around for eg Bankfirst with 2.24 IO fixed for 3 for investment use
    5. When upgrading the PPOR it wont be simple to preserve deductabilty

ta
    rolf

3. Meerkat#007

Meerkat#007 Member

Thanks Rolf.

I’m trying to get my head around your last point. Is it because you could unwittingly end up with a mixed purpose loan?