Sometimes it is worth listening to your gut

Discussion in 'Investor Stories & Showcase' started by devnew, 10th Dec, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. devnew

devnew New Member

Hi all,

Love reading all the stories here so I thought I would share my story with you all.

I don't have multiple properties, just one which I purchased about 10 years ago!

At the time, I was a uni student. I was on a disadvantage scholarship due to being from a disadvantaged school. I had saved this money as I didn't not know what to do with it.

An opportunity came up to purchase a property (around $600k, 850sqm), which was considered to be a very bad suburb in NSW (Western Sydney). Most people would think guns and violence.

I was told by countless people I would be making a mistake, I had no clue what I was doing, I would lose money (especially when house prices were dropping at the time) and I would have trouble with tenants. To be honest, I probably really did have no clue what I was doing, but somewhat the numbers made sense to me.

It was a property that had development opportunity (corner block with potential to subdivide to 3 houses), the rent covered the expenses, the government provided a first home owner grant and stamp duty exemptions, it was close to shops and transport. It just made sense to me, but not to others.

Looking at it now, I estimate the house has tripled in price based on latest sold house prices (for properties which are even older than mine).

I think what I wanted to share here is that, if things makes sense to you, it is sometimes worthwhile listening to your gut. It is definitely worthwhile listening to others, but sometimes the gems are the ones that other people don't see. It is these opportunities that I believe provide the most value.

10 years on, the people who I spoke to have been priced out in the area I purchased at, and wish they tagged along. They are now going out more west.