Some Noob Questions

Discussion in 'Property Information Resources & Tools' started by Jeah_, 31st Jul, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Jeah_

Jeah_ Well-Known Member

I'm very new to the IP game and I'm after some advice from those of you that have been around a while. We are currently looking for a property to buy as an IP for our SMSF. We have around $570-$590k to spend and are struggling with finding where to buy.

1. How do you get early notice of properties? I've been looking at listings online, but it seems to me as soon as the majority hit realestate.com.au or Domain.com.au they are already 'Under Offer'. Are there better sites? Should I be talking to agents?

2. I notice a lot of people use myrpdata.com.au and apm.com.au for info; do you pay for the premium service for your research? Is it worth the subscription cost?

Thanks so much in advance for any help you can offer.

Last edited: 31st Jul, 2015
  2. 380

380 Well-Known Member

Building rapport with local agents and by being on their database may help.

Some agents simply list property because they charged client "marketing Money" despite having property under contract proior to listing. Keeps client happy and free advertising for agent and agency itself.

Yes, apm reports are paid service. However, there are few free report providers. Check out BoQ app.

3. Jeah_

Jeah_ Well-Known Member

Thanks. Have d/l, will have a look.

4. HUGH72

HUGH72 Well-Known Member

Talk to agents, if you have already bought in an area or appear to be a serious buyer they may also give you advance notice of properties prior to them being listed.

5. Michael_X

Michael_X Mortgage Broker Business Member

On your questions