QLD Some advice for a newbie

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by AdamTheMan551, 25th Dec, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. AdamTheMan551

AdamTheMan551 Member

Current net worth:
    $270K worth of shares in Vanguard ETFs
    $38K in a term deposit
    Income:
    $60K a year + potential to earn an extra $60K through additional contract work. However, the latter is quite unstable and not guaranteed.
    Goal: Be able to quit my job, earn about at least $55K/year passive income and do the things I want.

I have no experience in property investing and invest in ETFs because I'm afraid to dip in individual stocks.

I'm just wondering if it's worth it to buy an investment property at this point, how I should go about it and what areas I should be looking for in QLD.

I'm also afraid of taking on a significant mortgage as I'm unsure how long I'll stay in my job for (thinking of resigning)..

Do you think a bank will allow me to take out a mortgage solely on the basis of projected rental income? How much should I be aiming for?

So far I'm thinking of $400K - $600K if possible...

Also, do you think it's worth it to build a granny flat and have dual sources of income?

Thanks

Any advice appreicated on how to best achieve my golas

2. Sackie

Sackie Well-Known Member

I have no experience in property investing and invest in ETFs because I'm afraid to dip in individual stocks.
    If you want to achieve your goal bad enough , you can learn.

I'm just wondering if it's worth it to buy an investment property at this point, how I should go about it and what areas I should be looking for in QLD.
    My opinion is yes. Do some research. See if your budget can buy a middle ring home. Read lots of threads on it. Narrow down a few areas. I believe Brisbane has more growth to come and as a long term BnH, it presents good upside for negligible risk.