So I just finished talking to NAB for 2 hours ...

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Dudechi, 14th Dec, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Dudechi

Dudechi Member

Hi everyone,

I am new to this so I hope you all can help and lead me in the right direction.

I currently own an investment property - I bought it 2 years ago for 440 K , now its worth around 500-520 K
    it is negatively geared but after tax, it is positive.
    I am looking to buy a second investment property.
    I had a meeting with NAB who I have my loan with and my reason for the meeting today was to get a pre-approval, to see how much I can spend on the next one.

I have 115K saved
    I am on around 60K a year but it ends up being 80 K due to bonuses and travel allowances.
    I live with my parents so I don't have many expenses.

After 2 hours, the bank says "we can only loan you 450K"

Basically they said that there are stricter lending criterias now due to APRA or something. They also said that even though the loan I have is I/O and so will be the next one, they still look at it as if it is a PI and reckon that more than 450K will make it hard for me to afford repayments.

I am so confused, I thought I did a good job saving up that money in 2 years.
    What should I do, should I access my equity ? What should be my next step. I would was hoping to buy my next investment around the 550K mark.

Give me your advise please

Thank you in advance.

2. tobe

tobe Well-Known Member

What you have been told is true, the lending environment has changed over the past 6 months or so. $450k is pretty good for what you have said about your finances, however there may be another lender who is slightly more generous. Contact a broker and have them run your numbers through a couple of lender calculators and see if you can get closer to $550k..

Phantom and SerenityNow like this.
  3. Jess Peletier