SMSF, $150K. No idea where to look

Discussion in 'Superannuation, SMSF & Personal Insurance' started by Adzza, 4th Apr, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Adzza

Adzza New Member

Hi All,

I am completely new to RE Investing, but i've decided to look at buying an IP with my super given I am fairly young and have a generous super balance (Im only 30). Given I have am looking at the long term, I am curious what people think about CG vs CF. I am of the opinion that CF is the most important thing given I am in this for the long haul. With that in mind, it opens opportunities to looking at a range of cheaper suburbs (even looked at beachside stuff in Tasmania that offer a decent cashflow return given their cost (200K yields about $220-$250PW).

Im posting here as I am actually really unsure what general direction to head. The SMSF is already setup and ready to go. I am aware I have limited buying capacity given the restrictions on SMSF loans, and I know my borrowing capacity is probably going to be around the 350k mark, it narrows the options.

Any advice welcome to get me started on this exciting journey!

Cheers

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Would you rather make $50 per week on a $300,000 property with 2% growth or negative $50 pw and have 10% growth?

I would rather have what makes the most money which would be the high growth property.

But whether you can find high growth properties now is the question.

3. Foxdan

Foxdan Well-Known Member

The advantage of property within an SMSF is that it is capital gains free once you reach preservation age.
    The property with the most capital growth over the next 35yrs should be your goal.
    You reach 65 (or whatever age it will be in the future), sell the property with no capitals gains and go put that money into a higher yielding / maintenance free options like shares.