Simple investing rules

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Zimplestiltskin, 24th Oct, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Zimplestiltskin

Zimplestiltskin Well-Known Member

I'm quite new to investing and trying to get my head around it. My brain works from understanding basic principles and building out so at this stage I'm trying to gather simple concepts.

Wanted some input on simple concepts but wanted thoughts on questions below as well:

- Are house prices going to continue to double every 7-10 years?
    - Is the S&P 500 a better lazy-man growth investment over next 7-10?

2. NHG

NHG Well-Known Member

Hey Zimplestiltskin,
    Great to see you're giving it a go.

What you are asking for is a crystal ball.
    The future is any mans guess. The past does not dictate the future.
    What does work are fundamentals of what it takes to succeed.
    Read: Richest Man in Babylon, and The Slight Edge.

What basic principles specifically are you wanting to learn?

Zimplestiltskin likes this.
  3. Zimplestiltskin

Well for example, land is what rises (and falls lately) in value while the house depreciates and provides cash flow.

Simple thing like that would tell me that flipping/developing houses is still valid in a market downturn as long as you can buy more land than the property you sold in the same area.

I'm mostly interested in housing renovation/development because I enjoy it.

Perthguy likes this.
  4. NHG

NHG Well-Known Member

It comes down to the numbers.

With experience, you can still find the deals. It most certainly requires superior skill, as there is less room for error.

I have friends who are developing with recently purchased properties. They did their numbers, knocked on a lot of doors, and negotiated hard. Many are still sourcing capital for new deals.