Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community

Should I sell?

Discussion in 'General Property Chat' started by Bran, 19th Sep, 2015.

1. Bran

Bran Well-Known Member

Had a phone call out of the blue today with a cash offer on a house.

Inner/mid ring Brisbane. It's a good offer. (I've edited details).

Reasons to sell:
    - Ongoing maintenance (wooden house)
    - Major construction next door may make it hard to get a tenant
    - Yield likely to fall due to construction, ageing house
    - Was a PPOR very recently i.e. no CGT
    - No tax benefits with ongoing negative gearing (I think maybe $5k negative a year)
    - The house will be the lone stander between one (coming) 3 story development on one established one-story development on the low side
    - I have no experience to develop it myself.

Reasons to keep:
    - It's a good developable >600m2 block in a suburb that has relatively boomed the last 2-3 years
    - No available land, only tear downs.
    - Brisbanes position in the property cycle
    - No need to sell, no issues with cash flow.
    - Entry/exit costs to get into the next one
    - Maybe one day I will do the DA

Help?
    My current strategy was (is) simply to bide some time whilst my attention is on other ventures, lower LVRs with increasing capital (I'm very highly leveraged - like 90%+) and pay down non-deductible debt before purchasing again.

Last edited: 19th Sep, 2015
  2. Natedog

Natedog Well-Known Member

Sounds like either way you will do well keeping or selling.

Whats your gut telling you?

Do you need the $$$ right now for any other venture that could return more $$$?

Would be a good way to reduce non deductible debt as per your last paragraph.

Good luck deciding :)

Bran likes this.
  3. MsAli

MsAli Well-Known Member Premium Member

Have you considered if you did a DA what would it be worth? Saw an example in Western Sydney (Parra surrounds)..

800sqm duplex site, 600k in July 2013