Should I buy now or later?

Discussion in 'Property Market Economics' started by Ben John1, 15th Apr, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Ben John1

Ben John1 Well-Known Member

I am a newbie and planning to invest in property. Hearing the news RBA will increase the rate, Royal Commission will make it harder for people to get a loan, and other things happening in the world, I wonder should I invest in property now or wait?

What's the pro and con of buying now versus later?

What strategies should I use if I want to buy now in (assuming) this peak market?

Any reasons to hold, wait and see what will happen in the next 2-3 years before jumping straightaway?

Many thanks,

Ben

2. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

What's your money doing at the moment?

The Y-man

JL1 likes this.
  3. Ben John1

Ben John1 Well-Known Member

stays in the bank at the moment, hence the reason want to try putting it into property. What's your thought on the pro and con buy now or wait little bit longer? thx

4. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

As with many such questions - unfortunately the response is "it depends...." (on a lot of things...)

At a very simplistic level, if you can find a property that is "past the peak" (i.e. cheaper than it would have been a year or two back) but nevertheless in a "good" (from investment perspective) area, AND you can comfortably hold it with P&I repayments, then personally I'd go for it.

Otherwise, I'd look at investing elsewhere in the market that had potentially better returns than the bank.

The Y-man

Ben John1 likes this.
  5. Sackie

Sackie Well-Known Member

Imo its always a good time to invest in real estate. As long as you have a sound strategy and realistic expectations . #1 is to be able undertake good due diligence. Unfortunately, imo, many haven't learnt how to.

6. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member