Should I buy an IP?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by nee4speed111, 8th Apr, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. nee4speed111

nee4speed111 New Member

Hi There,

Just wanted some advice on whether I should buy an Investment property and what areas I should be looking at. I'm 27M who is living at home, have saved up approx $90k and have a savings rate of $750 per week going into a savings account. My income is approx $78K per annum, and am thinking of buying an investment property in the next 12 months, preferably around the leppington area but am flexible on location.

I suppose my question is, do you think the market is going to continue to be slow for the foreseeable future? Would I be better off not getting a mortgage and instead investing in some other asset class? What sort of rental yield should I be looking for? I'm a bit of a beginner, so all advice would be helpful and welcomed!

2. Propertunity

Propertunity Well-Known Member

How many years is "foreseeable" in your mind?

Do you have any experience buying shares? or other assets?

What rental yield do you need?

Better than these questions is to first establish what you are trying to achieve first. Then you are probably better off having a mix of asset types - property, shares, managed funds etc.

3. nee4speed111

nee4speed111 New Member

The next 12-24 months I suppose.

[/QUOTE]Do you have any experience buying shares? or other assets?[/QUOTE]

I have minimal experience with purchasing shares, I'm essentially a total beginner in this.

[/QUOTE]What rental yield do you need?

Better than these questions is to first establish what you are trying to achieve first. Then you are probably better off having a mix of asset types - property, shares, managed funds etc.[/QUOTE]

I would hope for at least a 4% Gross rental yield, I'm really just trying to ensure that my cashflow doesn't take to big a hit, although I believe I could afford it.