Shonky tenants left with 7 weeks outstanding rent

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Satya, 22nd Jul, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Satya

Satya Active Member

Tenants renting for past 1 year left with 7 weeks outstanding rent and property damages.

The tenant hangs up when Realestate agent calls them. They don't have their new address info but do have their driving license info. It seems their intention is not to pay the remaining rent and just run away.

The property is being managed by licensed realestate agent and he tells me my landlord insurance can cover the outstanding rent and property damages. Property damages include scratched flooring, broken door, door handles, tiles on the floor, wall paint scratches etc.

Never been through this type of situation as I am still new to IP world.

Seeking guidance here from some one experienced who may have been through similar situation.

Last edited: 22nd Jul, 2016
  2. sanj

sanj Well-Known Member Premium Member

first step is to read your insurance PGSinsurance PDS

3. Perthguy

Perthguy Well-Known Member

What is happening with the bond?

For the outstanding rent and property damage, you will either need to go to the tribunal then claim insurance or claim insurance direct. It will depend on your policy. And if the tribunal is required, that should be done by your real estate person.

Satya likes this.
  4. Satya

Satya Active Member

5. Satya

Satya Active Member

Perthguy@ The bond is still with real estate and only covers 4 weeks rent. The property damage repair bill will be significant and bond won't be adequate to cover damages.

Realestate agent is trying to deal with the TerriScheer insurance direct haven't gone to tribunal yet. Just read few property claim reviews for TerriScheer insurance online and the review is not looking great. Seems many people being turned down for their claims.

6. Perthguy

Perthguy Well-Known Member