Shawn from Sydney

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Shawn, 3rd Dec, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Shawn

Shawn Well-Known Member

Hi all,

My name is Shawn. 23 years old as we speak and started my Property Investing journey earlier this year.

A bit about me.
    I grew up in a middle-class family where my dad was the sole breadwinner and my mum effectively quit her job as a teacher when I was 7-8 to focus on raising me and my younger brother (I'd like to say she's done quite a good job!)

I graduated from University earlier this year but have been in the workforce since 2013 (first job did not pay so well, but the one I started in January this year and the even newer one I'm starting next week have given me a whole lot more income than I myself thought I was worth)

I work in an industry where most people tend to stay back till 7-8pm and are constantly on the move and a lot is expected of you. However, I am unlike the rest of my colleagues, but more so like the Bill Gates quote " I choose a lazy person to do a hard job. Because a lazy person will find an easier way to do it"

From small things like putting a soap bottle on our water filter at work (which is really slow!) to automating most of our reporting and creating new /simpler processes around how we do our day-to-day work, I've done alright. However I feel like my 9am arrivals and 5pm departures have been frowned upon by most of the office, which lead me to feeling like I wanted to get a second source of income to help me with escaping this rat race. This is when property came into the picture.

I've acquired 2 properties this year.

1 x 3 bdrm townhouse in Mildura VIC - $285,000
    1 x 3 bdrm Highset in Slacks Creek QLD - $320,000