Sell previous PPR to fund new PPR or convert to investment?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by mikel, 20th Mar, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. mikel

mikel Member

Hi All,

I’ve been reading this forum for the past 6 months, but don’t have much to contribute yet as I’m new to property investment and seems like there are a lot of learn.

Personally, I kind of stumbled across property investment opportunity through life style change.

My wife and I built our dream home 15 years ago in a then new estate area near deer park. 18 km from cdb good distance for commuting to work daily and we have our mindset of starting a family and living there forever. So we thought at the time, fast forward a decade and kid starts school at the local government primary school. We were not too impressed with the school curriculum, catholic or private school was not an option. So we decided to move to a better government school in the inner west which also helped for commuting to cdb and give us more time to juggle between family and work.

At the time we paid off 70% of our dream home, where we could sell and use the fund for our new purchase. But since market was hot (so we decided to hold it) and the bank was able to provide sufficient funding for our new purchase without selling our dream home, so we took a large loan home for the new purchase and converted our dream home as investment.

We have been living in our new purchased home for about 2 years now, and during the whole time I keep worrying about the large loan which isn’t tax deductible and at the same time our dream home (investment) is actually positively geared.