Self employed with first year Nurse looking to buy first home

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Andygardener, 16th Nov, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Andygardener

Andygardener New Member

Hi All.

First time posting so I apologise if this is the wrong place to post.

Our rental is coming up for sale in NSW, we currently pay rent of $360pw. I’ve been paying this for over 18 months. Prior to that we lived with in laws for 8 months, prior to that rental at $350pw for a year. Also 18 months rental prior to that at $250pw.

The house will be for sale for $380k, we are thinking $370k will buy it. It’s a good house and ideal for us.

We have 10% $37k for a deposit.

I am self employed, have been in business for 4 years, 17/18 return profitable but not overly strong $20k profit (paid wife wages of 12k for the year) total turn over $75k. Returns previous to that are also profitable but fairly low income (accountant doing a great job)

18/19 return will be stronger, low estimate at 50k profit and total turnover of 88k.

My wife finished uni and started full time (post grad year) in January this year. Her salary is around 60k. She finishes her post grad year in a few months and will start a 12 month position in January. She will also receive a slight increase in pay. She has a year of payslips.

I have business (4 years) finance on my work Ute, $681 a month, this finishes in April with a balloon of $3900

My wife has a car but the loan is in her fathers name and she makes payments of $250 a fortnight to him.

Besides a Go MasterCard $2k with about $300 left owing we have no other debts besides phone contracts. Oh my wife uses Afterpay which is sitting at around $700, she is going to pay this off and get rid.

We are going to talk with a reputable broker on Monday.