Self Employed Tutor GST Question

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by WinstonRoad, 3rd Aug, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. WinstonRoad

WinstonRoad Member

Hi all. I am a self employed tutor who earnt 90k this year and have just advised by my accountant that I need to pay GST.

Of course I knew it existed, however it just never crossed my mind. And now trying to figure out how to progress from here.

The expenses that I do have charge me an extremely minimal amount of GST compared to what I would need to charge my clients, so it doesn't seem right for me to even be passing on the GST. It seems crazy to me that because of my demand/success/providing a good service, I have to act as a tax collecter and increase the fee to long term loyal clients or otherwise take a pay cut for the same hours worked.

Increasing my fees, by charging GST would result in me losing clients/finding it harder to be referred. It almost seems my best option is to work less and earn under 75k as my take home is about the same as at 90k (with a lot more free time) and not having to worry about BAS Statements. This can't be what a growth orientated government wants me to do.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

2. WinstonRoad

WinstonRoad Member

I should add that it becomes increasingly difficult to add GST as clients won't be incentivised to reccomend me (my main source of new clients) as if I have less clients/earning less, they would be paying 10% less. So it would be in their best interest to not refer me and keep me under 75k.

3. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Thank you for contributing to our roads, schools and hospitals.

Esel likes this.
  4. Marg4000

Marg4000 Well-Known Member

You will need to pay GST for this financial year since you have already earned $90K. Actually, you probably should have been submitting BAS statements and payments.