Seeking information on Home Loan Setup

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Zzo, 4th Dec, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Zzo

Zzo New Member

Hi All,
    I have a query regarding my home loan as the bank isn't giving me a black or white answer.
    My Dad and I are Tenants in Common for our property and have 2 separate loans with ANZ
    When we signed up I was a trainee so it was agreed that Dad would be the guarantor for my half of the loan for the duration of my traineeship. Once I finished, I would be on better money so this then wouldn't be required of him (was how we asked them to structure it)

Upon finishing my traineeship we went to the bank to confirm this and to have dad's name removed as guarantor. The reply we go was no, your dad will have to stay guarantor for the duration of your loan until you have paid it in full.

This means that he is locked in and if he wanted to re-invest he is limited to how much he can now borrow.

My question for the group is, is there anyway around this, as I can now prove that I am able to afford my loan?
    And would getting a home loan out from another bank and paying out the ANZ home loan sort this situation out.

My partner is in the same situation as he is tenants in common with his parents.
    Would we be better off combing our 2 half loans into 1 with a different bank?

Any advice would be much appreciated :)

2. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

ANZ's policy is the same as every other lender that comes to mind. All joint owners must be on the loan, usually as a borrower, but as a guarantor is also acceptable.

Your income is irrelevant. Since your Dad is a part owner of the property, the bank will want his name attached to the loan in some capacity. There is no way around this other than to pay off the loan or to change the property ownership (which would probably involve stamp duty and CGT).