Seeking general advice - 1BD, Wolli Creek

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by VolumesOfSilence, 21st Mar, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. VolumesOfSilence

VolumesOfSilence New Member

Hi All,

I am seeking some general advice. I am a young single professional moving to Syd in June 2019. Ideally I am looking to buy rather than rent. To this end, I've been watching out for affordable units - particularly around Wolli Creek (I know others loathe the area, but I really like it). The unit I'm looking at is OTP; $550k for a 1BD with a car space. 50 sqm internal + 3 balcony. Construction has commenced and I am told the project will settle in Dec 2019/Jan 2020.

I have a 10% deposit plus a $15k buffer. I anticipate having 20% by Nov 2019. I've read an enormous amount of material regarding the risks of OTP (& oversupply, continuing decline in Sydney unit prices etc.), but I can't help but feel as though $550k seems somewhat reasonable (having regard to current listings and recent sales). Due to the nature of my work I anticipate many late nights in the office, so I really need to be close to the CBD and would likely be paying $500-600 p/wk in rent in any regard.

Am I missing something?

Thank you in advance for any input.

2. Noobieboy

Noobieboy Well-Known Member

Did you look at Mascot or Green Square? Similar prices*. Half the distance to CBD*

*aprox

3. Dsign

Dsign Well-Known Member

Invest somewhere else and rent in sydney

If u hate money buy an apartment in Wolli creek

Gladys likes this.
  4. Mel Morgan

Mel Morgan Sydney Property Manager Business Member

Why would you want to buy rather than rent if a) capital growth is unlikely in the medium term, esp for OTP units in high supply areas like Wolli Creek & b) renting should work out cheaper when you take into account stata, council, maintenance costs (edit: sorry no depreciation).

Last edited: 22nd Mar, 2019
  5. Scott No Mates