TAS Security, leaving windows open

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Ellen, 14th Jul, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
?

Can I require the tenant to keep the place secure when she's out ?

1. Yes, put it in writing.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. No, it's her choice. She will be liable for loss and damage.

3 vote(s)
    75.0%
  3. No and she can't be held liable. You're the landlord you have to wear it.

1 vote(s)
    25.0%
  1. Ellen

Ellen Member

Hi. I'm fairly new to property management. Our tenant leaves the windows wide open when she is out at work all day (ground floor). I'm really concerned from a security point of view - it's a furnished apartment adjoining ours. Theoretically you could break through from her apartment to ours and certainly cause damage to our property (that she lives in) that wouldn't be insured if not locked.

Has anyone else had this situation ? We have asked her to lock up when she goes out and explained that it will invalidate insurance.
    I'm not sure if we can require her to use minimum security standards or if she can chose to leave things unlocked. Presumably she will be liable for damage to our property if it is broken into.
    Advice appreciated.

2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Is it in a security block? ie gated electronic/key entry to building?

Is the unit on the ground floor or easily accessed?

If you didn't live next door, would you have known?

3. iloveqld

iloveqld Well-Known Member

crimsafe?

4. Ellen

Ellen Member

Hi Scott, ground floor, easy access, viewed from road. Not secure gated.
    If I walked past I could see. I actually first noticed when doing work for the tenant, accessing the apartment.

5. Marg4000

Marg4000 Well-Known Member

If it bothers you, install security grilles, shutters or screens on the windows.