Section 27 - Release of Deposit?

Discussion in 'Legal Issues' started by JacksonWonger, 4th May, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. JacksonWonger

JacksonWonger New Member

Newbie here, we won at an auction in April and our solicitor has now asked us for the release of the deposit (10%) under section 27. There are no caveats on the property as the conveyancer has checked it out and also the mortgage is less than 80%. I have 28 days to respond, else it gets released anyway....and am told I have no reason to object?

Anyone done this before, anything sinister behind this and anything I should look out for? I want to be on good terms for a smooth transition but the inside of me is reluctant to sign anything major like this. Any chance he can renegade on the auction as once money gets into his hands and the agent's its very hard to get back and I cant afford that.

The way I see it, I'm planning for an earlier settlement, would that be a smarter way to solve this?

Thanks!!

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Sounds like the property is in Vic?

I would avoid releasing if possible. What if they remotgage the property, increase the loan, die, someone lodges a writ. Plenty of reasons why you may not be able to settle. If you do release seek legal advice on loding a caveat.

Anthony Brew and Perthguy like this.
  3. JacksonWonger

JacksonWonger New Member

Yes in Vic.

I am trying to avoid releasing, but they say it will be released anyway after 28 days without notification...would an earlier settlement safeguard this issue?

4. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member

Never do this if its just land or off the plan. What did your solicitor recommend.

5. Terry_w

If you settled within 28 days then yes.

Seek legal advice.

6. Paul@PAS