Saying no to friends seeking property advice

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by standtall, 24th Nov, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. standtall

standtall Well-Known Member

Not sure which forum section this one belongs to but I am sure a lot of experienced investors can relate to this.

I frequently get contacted by friends and family who want advice regarding their property purchases. I don’t mind giving a bit of guidance but buying a house is a highly emotional decision and most people can’t even take your well meaning advice well if they have already made up their mind on something and some will keep dragging you into their purchase more than you would like to be involved.

I don’t want to charge them for my time because I am not a property buyer and have no intention to be one.

What are some of the tips/tricks to keep the boundaries with free advice seekers without ruining the friendships?

gman65 likes this.
  2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Dont tell them you have ips in the first place.

give them a few books saying this is how i started.

just give vague answers.

Seb_W, charttv, Elives and 3 others like this.
  3. devank

devank Well-Known Member

If we can't
    - lend them money
    - advice them on what we know better
    - do business
    - etc..
    then, what's the point in being a friend?
    I do all of them while making sure the expectations are correctly set.
    If I'm going to lose a friend because of it, then I don't really need that friend in my life.

Give them your honest opinion and leave it at that. They may get advice from many other people and choose whatever suits them.

Pernoi, PinkPanther, Big A and 3 others like this.
  4. deezee

deezee Well-Known Member