saving for child's education

Discussion in 'Money Management & Banking' started by maria27, 21st Feb, 2011.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. maria27

maria27 New Member

Hello, I'm a newbie interested in investing, I've been searching through this great forum and have found alot of valuable information.
    I'm wanting to start a education savings plan for my 2yr and I'm currently looking at the IOOF wealthbuilder Australian shares fund (recommended by barefoot investor) or Vanguard Australian shares index fund which seems to be quite popular for beginners :) my only "con" with that is the 5k initial investment as my savings is 20k and I'm also looking at starting a FHSA...

Is there anyone on this forum that has experience with the IOOF wealthbuilder?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated
    :)

2. pale ale

pale ale New Member

Hello, I was doing some research and stumbled upon this question.
    I wish to invest for my 1yr old girls education. I am currently earning over 150K, working in WA mines.
    As I dont plan to live this lifestyle for ever, I believe I will be semi retired when she is in secondary school. What is the best option (tax wise) to ensure we can afford a good education in 15 yrs time, if I am not earning good wages.
    Thanks for any advice.

3. Investment_writer

Investment_writer New Member

Hi, I have looked up IOOF Wealthbuilder and its an income fund -they pay the tax if you keep invested for 10 years.

They also say
    "IOOF WealthBuilder allows you to set up a fund for education savings, add a Regular Savings Plan or draw on the Loan Facility."

Having invested in the sharemarket and funds without any gain due to timing and poor choice, I would have liked to know this avenue for education savings earlier. Still, there's always time to change.

The features seem quite flexible : IOOF Holdings Limited - Key features and benefits