Rural holding

Discussion in 'Commercial Property' started by Andrew123, 15th Apr, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Andrew123

Andrew123 New Member

hi,

I’ve been thinking about purchasing acreage with a view to enjoying the lifestyle as well as it providing a reasonable income stream as well as a hobby/pastime when I retire.

I like the idea of multiple income streams, eco cabins, youcamp, wedding venue (e.g rustic wool shed), aquaponics, as well as perhaps some more traditional farming such as running a few sheep/cattle and/or berries and fruit.

Does anyone have any experience in this sort of thing?

Please feel free to direct me elsewhere.

Cheers

2. James Cavill

James Cavill Well-Known Member

Hi Andrew, where about are you?

3. Andrew123

Andrew123 New Member

I’m in Hobart

4. James Cavill

James Cavill Well-Known Member

OK. I've no experience with commercial activity in rural areas in Tas. All of what we have done has been in Vic.
    Victorias planning provisions in "farming zones" for any activity unrelated to agriculture are reasonably prohibitive. Theres some situations where local policy calls for more accommodation in strategically placed locations within the farming zone but generally commercial activity has to be tied to an agricultural pursuit on the land. i.e. a restaurant thats utilising produce grown substantially on the land or a cellar door showcasing wines that are grown on the land etc. Not sure how much of that will be relevant for you in Tas. A Town planner may be able to assist you better with quick red flag - green flag type analysis of proposed activities

lixas4 likes this.
  5. Lizzie

Lizzie Well-Known Member

Hi Andrew ... we've had experience with small holdings, with both commercial crops and tourist accommodation. Your enquiry is not easy to answer.