Roof line causing ceiling height issues

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by Talicska, 27th Apr, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Talicska

Talicska Member

Hi All,

I am looking to purchase this home as an occupier and it has an odd roof line that mean a lot of lost potential living space due to the internal slope of the ceiling (see attached). This isnt a huge issue for me currently, but for renovations down the track I would like to know my options.

Would the only options be to completely re design/replace the roof? or is there an easier fix?

Very noobie questions I know, but I am new to this and would like to wrap my head around what would be involved. Thanks.

Attached Files:

2. Westminster

Westminster Tigress at Tiger Developments Business Member

That room looks like an enclosed verandah or sleepout - is it at the side or the rear that room?

It quite normal to have the sloped ceiling as if it has the flat ceiling in that area it would be likely to be quite low.

If you ever do an extension at that area you can pull back the roof and repitch it so that the new area has a higher ceiling

wylie likes this.
  3. Talicska

Talicska Member

Thanks Westminster! The location of the sloped roof is the living space (see attached) and continues into the dining space. It would just be for my partner and I, but we would plan to extend and build in under later and would like to make this a more inviting space by increasing the ceiling height.

Probably a stretch, but do you have an idea of cost? Under roof size is approx 60m2.

Attached Files:

4. wylie

wylie Moderator Staff Member

Looks to me like it is just a lowered false ceiling. It’s quite unusual to have that lopsided angle. And more unusual if it continues into the main roof of the main house. We have Queenslanders and we have lifted such lowered verandah ceilings to give more ceiling height. Very easy to do.