Restumping in Melbourne

Discussion in 'Repairs & Maintenance' started by annmak, 26th Oct, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. annmak

annmak Member

I bought my investment property five years ago and did not notice it had cracks in its low brick fence. The fence eventually collapsed probably being knocked down by the tenant's car or by itself (no body could tell or would tell.)

Last month, the property agent reported that cracks appeared in many places of the house internally. It took quite a few weeks for them to get someone to look at the house and the answer is it needs restumping. The quotation is back today asking for AUD 8910 incl GST:

upload_2017-10-25_22-51-11.png

My questions are:
    1. Is it a fair quotation? I have no knowledge at all about restumping and have no idea of how to assess.
    2. The quotation just gives 3 years' guarantee. Is it too short? Isn't building work supposed to be guaranteed for 6 or 7 years ?
    3. Is it difficult upload_2017-10-25_22-51-11.png to get someone out to the site to give quotes? Will it inconvenient the tenant a lot? I hesitate whether I should ask the agent to get a second or even a third quotation.
    4. Any recommendations for quotations?

What makes it more difficult for me is I am now staying overseas and have to totally rely on the agent to deal with the case.

2. Anthony Brew

Anthony Brew Well-Known Member

Having a few quotes done should not be enough of a problem for an agent to say no - if it is, then you need to ask yourself why you are paying them.
    I also don't see how it will make any difference that you are overseas. The company who does the work will need to be let in (and maybe the tenants will need somewhere to stay for a few days - not sure about that bit), nothing of which will make any difference if you are there or not. Again - why are you paying a property manager if not to manage your property?

annmak likes this.
  3. JacM