Researching suburbs to invest in.

Discussion in 'Property Information Resources & Tools' started by PropertyInvestment_Newby, 24th Apr, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. PropertyInvestment_Newby

PropertyInvestment_Newby New Member

Hi
    I’m new to property investing and was wondering if I can get some tips on the best ways to research suburbs to invest in.

I’ve been hit with the property bug and the last few months have been trying to learn as much as I can. Hopefully will be in a position to invest by the end of the year.

Any help would be great and sorry if it is a very broad question. All of the podcasts and books I have been reading indentify the importance of doing your own research on properties and suburbs. But I am struggling to find a starting point/strategy

Thanks in advance

Cheers

2. theperthurbanist

theperthurbanist Well-Known Member

Margaret Lomas’ book “20 Must Ask Questions” is a good starting point that will give you a broad understanding of what drives property values and yields, though I wouldn’t nescesarily follow it to the letter (ie read broadly).

3. Anthony Brew

Anthony Brew Well-Known Member

For me to start learning a location (remotely) -

1. Take a look at the approximate stage of the property cycle in the 4 major cities and choose one that is undervalued compared to the long running average

2. Go to realestate.com.au/invest and you can see a map showing different prices of properties. Note down all the ones within +/- of your budget. I as looking for 500k so I noted down 400-600k suburbs

3. Make up a spreadsheet with each suburb on a different row.
    for each row, have columns
    - Median price
    - KM from CBD
    - OO%
    - Household income
    - Vacancy rate
    - Distance to major shopping centre (under 1km a big plus)
    - Distance to train (under 1km a big plus in Syd/Mel/Bris)
    - Distance to bus (under 400m a big plus in Syd/Mel/Bris)